Ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord



Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs

Ottawa, Canada K1A 0H4

I, Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs, HEREBY APPROVE, pursuant to section 83 of the *Indian Act*, the following by-law made by the Alexander First Nation, in the Province of Alberta, at a meeting held on the 27th day of May 2016.

- Alexander First Nation Tax Rates By-law 2016

Dated at Ottawa, Ontario, this

day of

2016.

Hon. Carolyn Bennett, M.D., P.C., M.P.



## ALEXANDER FIRST NATION TAX RATES BY-LAW 2016

WHEREAS pursuant to subsection 83(1)(a) of the *Indian Act*, R.S.C. 1985, c. I-5, the Council of a band may make by-laws for the purpose of taxation for local purposes of land, or interests in land, including rights to occupy, possess or use land in a reserve and with respect to any matter arising out of or ancillary to such purpose; and

WHEREAS the Council of the Alexander First Nation enacted the Alexander First Nation Property Assessment and Taxation By-law – 2011 on March 21, 2011;

**THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED** that the following by-law be and is hereby enacted pursuant to the provisions of the *Indian Act* and in particular section 83(1) for the purpose of establishing annual rates of taxation.

1. This by-law may be cited for all purposes as the *Alexander First Nation Tax Rates By-law 2016*.

2. Pursuant to Section 54 of the *Alexander First Nation Property Assessment and Taxation By-law - 2011*, the rate of tax applied against the assessed value of property shall be,

In Reserve No. 134;

(a) for non-residential and linear property	2.44%
(b) for machinery and equipment	1.72%

In Reserve No. 134A,

(a)	for non-residential and linear property	1.35%
(b)	for machinery and equipment	1.02%

3. This By-law comes into force and effect upon being approved by the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development.

This by-law is hereby enacted by Council at a duly convened meeting held on May 27, 2016.

Chief Kurt Burnstick

Councillor Armand Arcand

Councillor Audra Arcand

Councillor Allan Paul

Councillor Marty Arcand

Councillor Edwin Paul

Councillor Craig Yellowdirt