11 DEC. 75

AY-LAW TO CONTROL DOGS ON THE SAUGEEN INDIAN RESERVE # 29 AND CHIEF'S POINT RESERVE # 28.

## Definitions

- 1. "Council" means the Band Council as described by the Indian Act and means the Council of the Saugeen Band for the purpose of this by-law,
- 2. "Dog" means any animal of the family Canine owned by any member of the Band, running wild or owned by others.
- 3. "Members of the Band" means a member of the Saugeen Band as prescribed by the Indian Act and means a member of the Saugeen Band situated on the Saugeen Indian Reserve # 29 and Chief's Foint Reserve # 28, for the purpose of this by-law.
- 4. "Registration Officer" means a person appointed by the Council of the Band to carry out the terms of this by-law.
- 5. "Register" means a system of an official written list of names, items for the purpose to carry out the terms of this by-law.
- 6. "Saugeen Band Police" means officers of the law as described by the Indian Act and means the Saugeen Police Department for the purpose of this by-law.
- 7. "Registration" fee means a charge or payment for license or tuition for the purpose of this by-law.
- 8. "Others" means any person other than those described under No. 3 of these definitions.
- 9. "Reserve" has the same meaning prescribed under the Indian Act and means the Saugeen Indian Reserve # 29 and Chief's Point Reserve # 28, for the purpose of this by-law.
- 1. The Council shall appoint one person to be Dog Registration Officer for the Reserve.
- 2. The owner of each dog on the reserve shall register the dog with the Dog Registration Officer, who shall enter the name of the dog, its age, sex and description and the name of its owner, in a Dog Registration List.
- 3. All dogs must be registered within three months after they are born or obtained.
- 4. The head of each family and each person living alone may keep one male dog, free of an registration fee provided that the registration of such dog is made in accordance with this by-law.
- 5. There shall be a registration fee payable in respect of each dog other than those mentioned in Section 4 of this by-law. This fee shall be in the amount set by the Council by resolution, and shall be collected at the time of registration.
- 6. Registration shall be renewed, once yearly, by notice to the Dog Registration Officer.
- 7. Any change in ownership of any registered dog shall be entered in the Register, and any registration fee that might become due shall be collected at that time.
- 8. Upon registration the Dog Registration Officer shall issue a registration tag free of charge to the owner, which shall be attached to the dog at all times.

LAUGREN BAND OF INDIANS, BY-LAW NUMBER 12.

- 9. No unregistered dog shall be harboured or kept by any person and any dog not registered may, on one week's notice, to the person keeping or harbouring it, be seized and destroyed by the Dog Registration Officer, or by the Saugeen Band Pollice.
- 10. Any person harbouring or keeping a dog that is not registered shall be liable on summary conviction to a fine not exceeding 10 dollars.
- 11. The owner of any dog must keep that dog chained if ordered to do so, by the Dog Registration Officer or the Saugeen Band Police.
- 12. Any person who does not comply with the terms of Section 11 of this by-law shall be guilty of an offense and shall be liable on summary conviction to a fine not exceeding twenty-five dollars (\$25.00).
- 13. Any unregistered dog running free may be seized and destroyed by the Dog Registration Officer or by the Saugeen Band Police.
- 14. Any dog, whether registered or not, that is found to be dangerous by the Dog Registration Officer, may, if not removed from the reserve within one week's notice to the owner of the dog, may be selzed and destroyed by the Dog Registration Officer or by the Saugeen Band Police.
- 15. For greater clarity, this by-law applies to all dogs on the reserve, whether owned by Band members, other persons, or running wild.

Approved and passed at a duly convened meeting of the Council of the Saugeen Band of Indians this third day of November, 1975.

> Janes Mason Chief

Ruth Roote Councillor Virginia George Councillor

Mrs. Flora Ritchie Councillor Frank Shawbedses Councillor

> Roy Wesley Councillor

Milbur Ritchie Councillor Mrs. Bernice Kahgee Councillor 2/2