## CURVE LAKE BY-LAW NO. 1980-1

The Council of the Curve Lake Band of Indians at its duly constituted meeting of March 12'th, 1980, hereby makes the following by-law pursuant to Section 81, paragraphs (a), (d), (j), (1), (0), (q), and (r)of the Indian Act, R. S. 1970, c. 106

- 1. In this by-law: "restricted chemical means 2-4-D "application" means releasing to the atmosphere, or the water or onto land or vegetation. "reserve" means the Curve Lake Indian Reserve, any other lands reserved for the Curve Lake Band, and the airspace and waters pertaining to that Reserve and those lands. "on the reserve" means within, upon, or on the Reserve.
- 2. No person without a permit in writing from the Band Administrator, may possess, transport, release, apply, arrange or cause application of, or dispose of any restricted chemical on the reserve.
  - A permit issued pursuant to Section 2 may specify or restrict
  - a) the quantity of the restricted chemical that may be applied; b) the location the restricted chemical may be applied;

  - c) the persons who are authorized to possess, apply, transport, or dispose of the restricted chemical;
  - d) the atmosphere, wind, barometric, or other natural conditions in which the restricted chemical may be applied;
- e) the quality of the restricted chemical that may be applied. A person who violates Section 2 of this by-law is liable on 4. summary conviction to a fine not exceeding \$500. or to imprisonment
- for a period not exceeding 30 days, or to both fine and imprisonment. A person who acts in violation of the terms of a permit issued 5.
- pursuant to Section 2 is liable on summary conviction (etc). A member of the Curve Lake Police Force may seize any restricted chemical on the reserve that he believes on reasonable grounds to 6. be applied in violation of Section 2 or of the terms of a permit issued under that section.

APPROVED and dated at Curve Lake this 12th day of March 1980

in the presence of the undersigned members of the Curve Lake Band

Council:

3.

CHIEF: Dalton T. Jacobs COUNCILLORS: Aubrey Coppaway Hollis Taylor Andrew Johnson Murray Whetung Doug Williams Franklin Knott