## SAGKEENG FIRST NATION

262-6.91 E-4216-262 (RT)



PHONE: (204) 367-2287

Sagkeeng First Nation Regulation of Traffic Law No. 91/262/002

WHEREAS; the Sagkeeng First Nation Government has and continues to exercise an inherent aboriginal right of Self-Government as recognized and affirmed by Section 35 of the Canadian Constitution Act 1982 and.

WHEREAS; the inherent aboriginal right of Self-Government provides that the Council of Sagkeeng First Nation Government has the authority to enact rescind or amend any laws within its jurisdiction and,

WHEREAS; the by-law No. 1 entitled "To provide for the regulation of traffic on the North Shore of the Fort Alexander Reserve No. 3 in the Province of Manitoba "dated October 12, 1965 is hereby rescinded and,

WHEREAS; for the provision of safety and protection of its residence of Sagkeeng First Nation a law to regulate traffic on the North Shore road is required.

WHEREAS: under the present system The Highway Traffic Act of the Province of Manitoba on reserve lands without reference to or respect for First Nations rights to Self-Government or Self-Determination.

NOW THEREFORE; the Council of Sagkeeng First Nation Government without prejudice to but in express affirmation of its right of Self-Government hereby enacts;

- 1) No vehicle shall be operated at a speed in excess of 70 kilometres per hour (as posted) on the North Shore Road of Sagkeeng First Nation.
- 2) Notwithstanding the provision of Section 1, a vehicle shall not be operated at a rate of speed in excess of 50 kilometres per hour within any school zone designated and marked as such by the Council of Sagkeeng First Nation.
- 3) Any person who violates any of the provisions of this law shall be guilty of an offence and shall be liable on summary conviction to a fine not exceeding three hundred dollars or imprisonment for a term not exceeding thirty days or both fine and imprisonment.

## SAGKEENG FIRST NATION

Read a Third time and approved done and passed at a duly convened meeting of the Council of the Sagkeeng First Nation Government this day of August, A.D. 1991.

Councillor

Councillor

Councillor

Quorum of Government is 3