Mohawk Council of Kahnawake By-Law No. T.B.L. CIR 1A

Being a by-law to amend by-law #T.B.L. CIRL respecting traffic circulation, public security and nuisances.

WHEREAS the Mohawk Council of Kahnawake passed it's by-law No. T.B.L. CIRL on February 24, 1977, respecting the circulation of traffic, public security, and nuisance on the Caughnawaga Indian Reserve No. 14, in the Province of Quebec;

AND WHEREAS the Council is of the opinion that the by-law should be amended to correct certain deficiencies;

NOW THEREFORE the Mohawk Council of Kahnawake makes as a by-law thereof the following --

- 1. Article 1(A) of by-law No. T.B.L. CIRl, dated February 24, 1977, be and the same is hereby amended by adding the words "or the Kahnawake Peacekeepers" following the words "Police Force" in the second line thereof so that the said Article shall read --
  - "1 A <u>PEACE OFFICER</u> includes any member of the Caughnawaga Police Force or the Kahnawake Peacekeepers, and special constables appointed under the Police Act of the Province of Quebec having jurisdiction on the Caughnawaga Indian Reserve and any special supernumerary constable appointed under the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Act and having jurisdiction on the Caughnawaga Indian Reserve".

.../2

2. By-Law No. T.B.L. CIRI, dated February 24, 1977, be and the same is hereby amended by deleting Article 9 and inserting in lieu thereof the following --

"9-A. SPEED LIMIT IN MOHAWK TERRITORY

No motor vehicle will circulate in the territory at a speed more than 70 kilometres per hour on routes 132 and 138, 50 kilometres per hour on routes 207 and Old Chateauguay Road, 30 kilometres per hour on all roads or streets in the village, hospital zone, school zone and other areas as designated.

In the case of a speeding offence, the minimum fine shall automatically be \$20.00 for the offence, plus \$1.00 per kilometre past the speed limit up to 15 kilometres past the speed limit, from 16 to 25 kilometres the fine shall be \$20.00 plus an additional \$3.00 for every kilometre over the speed limit, and from 26 kilometres and up past the speed limit, the fine shall be \$20.00 plus \$5.00 for every kilometre past the speed limit."

Approved and passed at a duly convened meeting of the Mohawk Council of Kahnawake this 20th day of December 1980.

Chief Andrew T. Delisle Grand Chief Joseph Norton Assistant Grand Chief

Chief

Eugene Montour Chief

Annie White Chief

Chief

Richard White Chief Chief

Billy Two Rivers Chief

Walter Goodleaf Chief

<u>Allan R. Patton</u> Chief

Chief

Proposed by: Chief June Delisle Seconded by: Chief Joe Norton