The Council of the <u>Alexander</u> Band of Indians at a meeting held this <u>llth</u> day of <u>September</u> 1972, make the following by-law pursuant to paragraph (b) and paragraph (r) of Section 80 of the Indian Act. By-law No. 5.

A by-law to provide for the regulation of traffic in the <u>Alexander</u> Indian Reserve, in the Province of <u>Alberta</u>.

- 1. In this by-law
 - (a) "Council" means the Council of the <u>Alexander</u> Band of Indians;
 - (b) "Reserve" means the Alexander Indian Reserve;
 - (c) "residential area" means any area in the Reserve designated in writing by the Council as a residential area for the purposes of this by-law; and
 - (d) "vehicle" means any wagon, cart, motor car, motor truck, trailer, motorcycle, traction engine, tractor, road-making machinery or other conveyance that is driven, propelled or drawn by any kind of power.
 - (e) "litter" means to deposit or cause or allow to be deposited
 - i. any coal, brick, wood, manure, gravel, earth, garbage or other matter forming any part of the load of a vehicle or
 - ii. any glass or like material; nails, tacks, or scraps of metal or,
 - iii. any rubbish, refuse or waste.
- 2. No vehicle shall be operated on the Reserve at a rate of speed in excess of <u>45</u> miles an hour.
- 3. Notwithstanding the provisions of Section 2 hereof, no vehicle shall be operated in any residential area at a rate of speed in excess of

15_ miles an hour.

- 4. No person shall litter a roadway or highway.
- 5. When a person litters a highway from a motor vehicle other than his and it cannot be determined which of two or more occupants of a vehicle is responsible, the driver of the motor vehicle shall be deemed to be the person littering the roadway or highway.
- 6. Any person who violates any of the provisions of this by-law shall be guilty of an offence and shall be liable on summary conviction to a fine not exceeding \$100, or imprisonment for a term not exceeding thirty days, or both fine and imprisonment.

Chief: <u>George Lafleche</u> signed

Councillors: Edward J. Arcand signed

Councillors:

Leo Bruno signed

Pete Lafleche signed Pat Auigbelle signed

Martin Arcand signed