Cabinet du Ministre des Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord



Office of the Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development

Ottawa, Canada K1A 0H4

I, Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development, HEREBY APPROVE, pursuant to section 83 of the *Indian Act*, the following by-law made by the Alexis Nakota Sioux Nation, in the Province of Alberta, at a meeting held on the 3rd day of May 2013.

Alexis Nakota Sioux Nation Tax Rates By-law 2013

June precedence

Dated at Ottawa, Ontario, this 20th day of Tube

anadä

2013.

ALEXIS NAKOTA SIOUX NATION TAX RATES BY-LAW 2013

WHEREAS pursuant to subsection 83(1)(a) of the *Indian Act*, R.S.C. 1985, c. I-5, the Council of a band may make by-laws for the purpose of taxation for local purposes of land, or interests in land, including rights to occupy, possess or use land in a reserve and with respect to any matter arising out of or ancillary to such purpose; and

WHEREAS the Council of the Alexis Nakota First Nation enacted the *Alexis First Nation Property Tax By-law* on July 27, 1999;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the following by-law be and is hereby enacted pursuant to the provisions of the *Indian Act* and in particular section 83(1) for the purpose of establishing annual rates of taxation.

1. This by-law may be cited for all purposes as the *Alexis Nakota Sioux Nation Tax Rates By-law 2013*.

2. Pursuant to Section 5 of the *Alexis First Nation Property Tax By-law*, the rate of tax applied against the assessed value of property shall be,

In Reserve No. 133;

(a) for non-residential and linear property	2.56%
(b) for machinery and equipment	1.76%

In Reserve No. 232,

(a) for non-residential and linear property 1.32%

3. This By-law comes into force and effect upon being approved by the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development.

This by-law is hereby enacted by Council at a duly convened meeting here on May 3, 2013.

Chief Clayton (Tony) Alexis

Councillor Rod Alexis

Councillor Erwin Letendre

Councillor Jaclyn Mustus

Councillor Henry Alexis

Councillor Gloria Potts

Councillor Darwin Alexis

Councillor Lonnie Letendre