## Cabinet du Ministre des Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord



Office of the Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development

Ottawa, Canada K1A 0H4

I, Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development, HEREBY APPROVE, pursuant to section 83 of the *Indian Act*, the following by-law made by the Bigstone Cree First Nation, in the Province of Alberta, at a meeting held on the 24th day of April 2013.

- Bigstone Cree First Nation 2013 Tax Rates By-law

Juene ine

Dated at Ottawa, Ontario, this and day of June

2013.



## Bigstone Cree First Nation 2013 Tax Rates By-law

**WHEREAS** pursuant to subsection 83(1)(a) of the *Indian Act*, R.S.C. 1985, c.1-5, the Council of a band may make by-laws for the purpose of taxation for local purposes of land, or interests in land, including rights to occupy, possess or use land in a reserve and with respect to any matters arising out of or ancillary to such purpose; and

**WHEREAS** the Council of the Bigstone Cree First Nation enacted the Bigstone Cree First Nation Property Assessment and Taxation By-law on April 15, 2004;

**THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED** THAT the following by-law be and is hereby enacted pursuant to the provisions of the *Indian Act* and in particular section 83(1) for the purpose of establishing annual rates of taxation.

- 1. This by-law may be cited for all purposes as the *Bigstone Cree First Nation 2013*Tax Rates By-law.
- 2. Pursuant to Section 12.1 of the *Bigstone Cree Property Assessment and Taxation By-law*, the rate of tax applied against the assessed value of property shall be,

(a) for non-residential and linear

2.45%

(b) for machinery and equipment

2.10%

This by-law is hereby enacted by Council at a duly convened meeting held on April 24, 2013.

Chief: Ralph Cardinal	
plass	J Clalue
Councillor: Clara Moberly	Councillor: Linda Gladue
M.	
Councillor: Silas Yellowknee	Councillor: John Gullion
La Gellow Bree	Claylos
Councillor: Eva Yellowknee	Councillor: Clayton T. Auger
Alvan alook	
Councillor: Ivan Alook	Councillor: Clifford Cardinal

Councillor: Edward L. Wapahoo